Dart 15 Inland Championships at Rutland

On the weekend of 20/21 May the Dart 15 fleet visited Rutland for the Inland Championships, which were part of the Rutland Catamaran Open. There were 25 entries and the first race was started in a light (force 2) westerly breeze with an inverted P course.

Local sailor Luke Harwood took an early lead and successfully defended his position for most of the race from Stuart Snell and Austin Flather. Unfortunately, on the approach to the finish Harwood got headed and the boats of Snell and Flather passed by to take 1, 2 ahead of Harwood.

The second race was sailed in similar conditions back-to-back with race 1 to avoid the long slow sail back to the clubhouse. Steve Hanby and Paul Smith led the pack from the right side of the course but others failed to notice the big benefits that could be gained up the center of the lake. By the last lap, Bob Carter had caught up to second behind Hanby and was fortunate to hold on after being holed by an errant Hurricane. Smith & Snell took third and forth places.

On Sunday the wind had freshened and swung round to NW. Race officer, Dave Wilkins, decided to put in the "Round Rutland" race, which was to become the highlight of the weekend. The wind was directly down one valley of the lake, which made for excellent upwind/ down wind legs. The early leader was Steve Sawford but he got overhauled by Smith, Hanby and G Carter who took 1,2,3.

After lunch Sunday, a further 2 races were sailed back to back. The result of the first was G Carter, Smith followed by Hanby in third place. A 45 degree change of wind direction before the last race caused the whole course to have to be re-laid, much to the consternation of Dave Wilkins, who as well as being chief race officer, became chief mark mover! The final race was sailed on a dying breeze and local star S Sawford held off Snell who was threatening throughout but had to settle for second.

When the final results were calculated it transpired that no one had won more than one race and 4 competitors had tied on 12 points. The final positions were decided on best discard, and so G Carter narrowly won from Hanby, Smith and Snell respectively. Bob Milton was first Sprint boat and won the silver salver.

Overall Results
1st G Carter Beaver
2nd S Hanby Beaver
3rd P Smith Beaver
4th S Snell Grafham
5th S Sawford Rutland
1st R Carter Grafham

Sprint Results
1st R Milton Gurnard
2nd P Breeze Calshot

George Carter at Rutland:
George Carter
(click for a bigger picture)

For more information on Dart 15's at Rutland Sailing Club