Sprint 15 Winter 2005/2006 Events Results

The Sprint 15 winter traveller series was concluded at Grafham on Sunday 12 March. All 5 events were sailed and 48 sailors took part and 15 qualified with 3 races completed. The events (and attendances) were at Stewartby (18), Beaver (11), Draycote (20), Queen Mary (16) and Grafham (24) in a variety of wind conditions. The first 3 races were sailed in light winds but both Queen Mary and Grafham had good (F3-5) winds in cold conditions. The weather forecasts (of cold / snow) undoubtedly put off some of the competitors but those that took the risk were rewarded with some exciting sailing.

It was a very tight finish in the series between last years winner, Paul Smith (1,2,2), and Bob Carter (1,1,3) but Carter took the Travellers Trophy (affectionately called "The Urn" ) on the tie break. Chris Black and Philip Howden took third and forth places making the Grafham tally 3 in the top 5 places. George Stephen was the top Queen Mary Sailor with 5th place on a tie break just pushing Shanklin sailor, Erling Holmberg, out of the chocolates in sixth place.

Bob Carter, Winner of Sprint 15 Winter TT 2006
Bob Carter, Winner of Sprint 15 Winter TT 2006

CompetitorsEventBest 3 Results
NameSailStewartbyBeaverDraycoteQueen MaryGrafhamPointsPlace
Bob Carter19453311451
Paul Smith19611211-252
Chris Black19424-927133
Phillip Howden1939-64-6164
George Stephen15945-759175
Erling Holmberg19596-5610176
Gordon Goldstone191811-13321277
Stuart Pierce18139-812-298
Paul Tanner1991--31018319
Frank Sandells176213--7123210
John Shenton195610-158-3311
Steve Sawford17332-2--3412
Charles Watson1237-4--13513
Barrie Hoggard1815169--194414
Ray Gall1914-116--4715
Keith Bartlett19628-16--5416
Andrew Chidwick194612--13-5517
Trevor Burmer-Jones157518--11-5918
Steve Hanby1981-1---6119
Ed Tuite-Dalton1744--10-226220
Adrian Brunt184117--15-6221
Stuart Snell1982----36322
Paul Craft1977---4-6423
Matthew Smith1900-5---6524
Thomas Sandal1957----56524
Jan Elfring1913--12-246626
Robin Hall12927----6727
Neil Storr1715-7---6727
Jon Stone1839--14-236727
Austin Flather1808-8---6830
John Keyte1805----86830
David Casale1963---9-6932
George Love1825-10---7033
Peter Richardson1983----117134
Simon Farthing1898----137335
Graham Shrimpton159514----7436
Ian Curd1249---14-7436
Bill Tusting1947----147436
Steve Wakelam147915----7539
Bob Rowntree1958----157539
Keith Chidwick1840---16-7641
Paul Roberts1910----167641
Peter Slater1201--17--7743
Richard Philpott1871----177743
D James1348--18--7845
Jeremy Doughty1627--19--7946
Steve Roberts1910--20--8047
Trevor Arnold1410----208047

Last update: Tuesday 1st 2020f December 2020