Marconi Sailing Club TT : Summer Series
Saturday 26th - Sunday 27th September 2015

The Marconi SC Sprint 15 traveller event took place on 26/27 September with 12 competitors taking part.

Saturday was a lovely sunny day but lighter winds than the fleet would normally prefer, so the race officer set the race course in the bay to give some respite from the local tide.

The first race saw the fleet converge on the windward mark in light conditions, making manoeuvrability slow and generally favouring those who did not find themselves tacking on the mark.   Paul Grattage pulled clear, followed by David Ball with the rest of the fleet grouped behind.  Following two laps of the square course, Paul and David retained their positions with Paul Craft taking third place.

The start of the second race saw the full fleet on the line and with two guns from the committee boat, a number of people returned to recross the line.   Chris Tillyer, Paul Grattage and Jenny Ball got to the windward mark first but a windshadow from the land put Chris’ boat in irons, allowing much of the fleet to sail through.  However, by taking a different line from the fleet on the downwind leg, Chris got himself back to the front of the fleet and had a hard fought race with Paul Grattage who eventually took the win with Chris second and Jim Bowie third.

A wind shift necessitated the course to be moved and a resulting port hand bias on the start line led to a bunching of most of the fleet on port at the pin end, resulting in a general recall.   The line was tweaked and this time the fleet split between a port or starboard start.  In the main body of the fleet, it was the tactics between mark 4 and the committee boat line that resulted in most of the changes of position – but Paul Grattage emerged in front, with Chris Tillyer second and David Ball third.

Sunday morning dawned with both sun and, more importantly, with the promised improved wind strength.  This year, a different course was set for the traditional Marconi long distance race (as a joint club Bart’s Bash race was taking place round Osea Island).  This year, the fleet set off down river, with a triangle course set around Ross Revenge - known better as the home of Radio Caroline – currently moored in the River Blackwater.  The fleet split between the north and south shores to keep out of the main channel and tide – apart from Paul Craft who sailed mostly up the middle and still managed to make great progress against the fleet!   As the fleet approached the windward mark, it transpired that the south bank paid off with Kevin Kirby getting round the mark with a healthy lead followed by Paul Craft and Howard Hawkes.  The second leg was an exhilarating reach across the river, past Radio Caroline, followed by a run home with the tide and then a short tactical beat against the tide to cross the finish line.  Kevin Kirby took first, followed by Paul Craft with Paul Grattage tacking out of the main channel at the finish to take third place with Howard Hawkes coming in fourth.

The favourable weather on Sunday and a fun race made up for the lighter airs on Saturday and resulted in a good weekend's sailing.

Overall Results:


Pos Sail No Helm Club R1 R2 R3 R4 Pts
1 2018 Paul Grattage Shanklin 1 1 1 3 3
2 1928 Paul Craft Worthing SC 3 12 4 2 9
3 1923 David Ball Marconi SC 2 8 3 5 10
4 1776 Kevin Kirby Marconi SC 4 7 8 1 12
5 1953 Chris Tillyer TBYC 8 2 2 13 12
6 1267 Howard Hawkes Snettisham Beach SC 5 6 6 4 15
7 1917 Jenny Ball Marconi SC 9 4 5 7 16
8 1981 Jim Bowie TBYC 7 3 9 9 19
9 2007 Erling Holmberg Shanklin 6 11 7 8 21
10 2004 Gordon Goldstone Queen Mary 11 5 11 6 22
11 1240 Donald Sloan Brightlingsea 10 10 10 11 30
12 1339 Jon Pearse Marconi SC 12 9 12 10 31


Full Series Results available here

Una Fleet
CompetitorsEvent Placings
NameSailClubFormatHandicap PlaceFleet Place
Paul Grattage2018Shanklin Sailing ClubUna Rig11
Paul Craft1928Worthing Sailing ClubUna Rig22
David Ball1923Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig33
Kevin Kirby1776Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig44
Chris Tillyer1953Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig55
Howard Hawkes1267Snettisham Beach SCUna Rig66
Jenny Ball1917Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig77
Jim Bowie1981Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig88
Erling Holmberg2007Shanklin Sailing ClubUna Rig99
Gordon Goldstone2004Queen Mary Sailing ClubUna Rig1010
Donald Sloan1240Brightlingsea Sailing ClubUna Rig1111
Jon Pearse1339Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig1212