Marconi Sailing Club TT : Summer Series
Saturday 19th - Sunday 20th April 2008

The weekend started with manic high winds and plenty of wavy water! With 26 competitors the most for about 10 years at Marconi Sailing Club, there was all to sail for.

The first race kicked off at 12 noon, where we saw home lad Nicholas Miller (Marconi SC) take the lead most of the way round and crossed the line first, closely followed by Kevin Dutch (Seasalter SC), followed by the main pack with James Tovey (Marconi SC) in 3rd place.

The second race saw much more heavy wind and Atlantic waves on the River Blackwater! Just starting 30 seconds after the hooter had gone Kevin Dutch fell off his boat and it capsized on to Nicholas Miller which caused his rig to fall down, and our two front men to retire form the second race. This race was won by David Ball (Marconi SC), followed by Nick Dewhirst (Whitstable SC) and Jenny Ball (Marconi SC) coming in 3rd position.

The second day saw no racing in the morning due to heavy Fog that did not clear, until lunchtime where a decision was made to race just around Osea Island instead of the figure of eight round Northy Island . With the sun out and the wind gradually filling in from the Sea Breeze, a lady was out the front…… Jenny Ball! With her winning the long distance race, AGAIN!

But with three different winners from three different races anyone could be holding the Winner Trophy at the end of the day. Finally results were calculated and three Marconi boats were at the top of the leader board.

Rigging Up
Rigging Up
Charles Watson shoots the line
Charles Watson shoots the line


Full Series Results available here

Una Fleet
CompetitorsEvent Placings
NameSailClubFormatHandicap PlaceFleet Place
David Ball1488Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig11
Jenny Ball1917Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig22
James Tovey1115Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig33
Charles Watson1237Halifax Sailing ClubUna Rig44
Howard Hawkes1643Snettisham Beach SCUna Rig55
Nick Dewhirst2006Whitstable Yacht ClubUna Rig66
Peter Tovey1115Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig77
Gordon Goldstone2004Queen Mary Sailing ClubUna Rig88
Peter Richardson1983Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig99
Nick Miller1812Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig1010
Andy Chidwick1946Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig1111
Martyn Ellis1981Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig1212
Steve Davison1567Halifax Sailing ClubUna Rig1313
Keith Ball1937Grafham Water Sailing ClubUna Rig1414
Ben Tunnacliffe1343Halifax Sailing ClubUna Rig1515
Stewart Pegum1918Oxford Sailing ClubUna Rig1616
Kevin Dutch1938Seasalter Sailing ClubUna Rig1717
Darren Kiggins1985Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig1818
Steve Cleaver1577Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig1919
Steven Tunnacliffe1959Halifax Sailing ClubUna Rig2020
Fenella Miller1081Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig2121
David Bladon1965Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig2222
David Fearnley1920Carsington Sailing ClubUna Rig2323
John Long1133Seasalter Sailing ClubUna Rig2323
Chris Maloney1585Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig2323
Paul Fowler1759Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig2323