Inland Championships Grafham Water Sailing Club TT : Summer Series
Saturday 16th - Sunday 17th October 2010

The last regatta of the Windsport Catparts Sprint 15 Summer traveller series was held at Grafham Water Sailing Club on the weekend of 16-17 October, which was also the Inland Championships. There were 30 entries including two who were trying out the DX sails, but could not qualify for the prizes as the sail has not been adopted by the class. This once again made the Sprint 15s the biggest fleet at the Grafham Cat Open.

Saturday was ideal mostly bright with a force 3-4 northerly wind and race officer, Jack Edwards, set the preferred trapezoidal course with tight reaches and a port biased start line. Race one got underway with Kevin Dutch sailing Sport mode leading the charge at the windward mark from John Manning, Mark Aldridge and Gordon Goldstone. As the race progressed Dutch extended his lead and Steve Sawford sailing the experimental DX rig made ground but was unable to catch Dutch on the water. After 4 laps Dutch took the gun and was far enough ahead to win on corrected times from Aldridge, Manning, Goldstone and George Love who was also sailing Sport Mode. The DX of Sawford was second on the water but just tenth on corrected time.

Race two got underway just as a front and spell of rain came through. Dutch missed his trapeze hook and fell in just as the race got underway. Sawford made no such mistake and was first to the windward mark closely followed by Aldridge and Love. Sawford progressively extended his lead as the race developed while Aldridge and Kevin Kirby were slugging it out for second place. Ray Gall in the second DX worked his way up to second on the water but it was Sawford who took the gun after 4 laps. When the handicapping was applied the race was won by Kirby from Sawford, Aldridge, Goldstone, Thomas Sandal and William Tusting. There was a short delay after race 2 as the course had to be reset due to the wind swinging to the West. The fleet were happy that the reaches were extended during the course adjustments as they had been very short for the first two races. The start line was heavily port biased for race three and it tempted Dutch and Aldridge to try a port start at the pin end but the leading boats on starboard foiled their plan and they had to tack under them. On the first beat the wind swung further west and the boats that chose the right side (on port tack) made out like bandits and it was Aldridge, Dutch and Love that were first to the windward mark. Love sailed well downwind to take the lead closely followed by Sawford and Dutch. This race was the most open with frequent place changes and over the next laps both Sawford and Dutch took turns in the lead until Sawford opted for a swim and left the others to fight it out. After 6 laps Dutch took line honours but on corrected times it was Kirby who won from Aldridge, Dutch, Sandal and Erling Holmberg.

On Sunday the weather was clear but with just a light breeze from the NW. Race four got underway and once again it was Dutch first to the windward mark followed by Sawford, Sandal, Peter Richardson, Tusting and Robert England. This sequence was pretty much held for the first lap until Dutch lost out on the second beat leaving Sawford to take the lead. The race was shortened to 2 laps as the course was big and the wind was dropping. Sandal, who has spent most of the year nursing a knee problem, took the gun from Sawford, Richardson, Holmberg, Kirby and England.

The course was shortened and a fifth race was started. The wind continued to drop throughout the first lap to almost nothing and the race was eventually abandoned, much to the relief of many but a few were disappointed as they felt they might have manage to get round once. No further racing was attempted making it a 4 race series and the fleet retired to wash the killer shrimps off their boats with the pressure washers provided by the club.

Thus after an exciting sail on Saturday and a light day on Sunday, Kevin Kirby was crowned the new Inland Champion after narrowly beating Mark Aldridge on countback. The class would like to thank Grafham for an excellent event and now move on to start the winter series at Stewartby on 6 November.

Kevin Dutch - 2010 Overall TT Champion
Kevin Dutch - 2010 Overall TT Champion
Kevin Kirby Grafham Winner
Kevin Kirby Grafham Winner


Full Series Results available here

Una Fleet
CompetitorsEvent Placings
NameSailClubFormatHandicap PlaceFleet Place
Kevin Kirby1966Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig11
Mark Aldridge1986Grafham Water Sailing ClubUna Rig22
Thomas Sandal1957Grafham Water Sailing ClubUna Rig33
Gordon Goldstone2004Queen Mary Sailing ClubUna Rig54
Erling Holmberg2007Shanklin Sailing ClubUna Rig65
Peter Richardson1983Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig86
John Manning1955Beaver Sailing ClubUna Rig97
Robert England1351RYAUna Rig108
William Tusting1947Grafham Water Sailing ClubUna Rig119
Howard Hawkes1643Snettisham Beach SCUna Rig1210
Chris Black2005Grafham Water Sailing ClubUna Rig1311
George Stephen1594Queen Mary Sailing ClubUna Rig1412
George Wood1908Grafham Water Sailing ClubUna Rig1513
Eamonn Browne1861Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig1614
Keith Pollitt1515Netley Sailing ClubUna Rig1715
Jon Finch1890Stewartby Water Sports ClubUna Rig1816
Daren Fitchew1642Thorpe Bay Yacht ClubUna Rig1917
Micheal Robertshaw1758Beaver Sailing ClubUna Rig2018
James Hurst565Grafham Water Sailing ClubUna Rig2119
Kevin Dowley1965Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig2220
Eamonn Quigley1715Grafham Water Sailing ClubUna Rig2321
Keith Chidwick1840Queen Mary Sailing ClubUna Rig2422
Fenella Miller1579Marconi Sailing ClubUna Rig2623
Philip Warner1756Draycote Water Sailing ClubUna Rig2724
Sport Fleet
CompetitorsEvent Placings
NameSailClubFormatHandicap PlaceFleet Place
Kevin Dutch1938Seasalter Sailing ClubSport41
George Love1825Carsington Sailing ClubSport72
Gordon Deuce1461Brightlingsea Sailing ClubSport253